Okay, Pat… now who are you really supporting?

When I woke up this morning, the sky was purple, and with pretty pink polka dots.  The grass was orange.  Cars were driving on the left-hand side of the road.  My mail arrived on time. 

Nope… I got up, and everything checked out.  Things were where they were supposed to be.  All was right with the world.  Then I read the News.  If you had told me Hillary Clinton and Barak Obama were caught making out in the Fox News van, I would have been less surprised than I was to read about Pat Robertson’s unqualified support for RINO Giuliani.  It just didn’t make sense. 

I was pretty sure I wasn’t high.  And that’s when I got scared.  I thought: This must be what it feels like to be a Ron Paul supporter.  Nothing was making sense.  The world ceased to hold any meaning to me.  It was just an utter state of confusion.

Since then, I have looked more carefully at Robertson’s reasoning… and I’m still confused.  The fog has not cleared.  Hasn’t even shifted.  The only thing I can come up with is that, Like Giuliani, Robertson is permanently stuck on 9/11.  Joe Biden, in what is perhaps the most intelligent thing he has ever said, nailed Giuliani down during the last Dem debate:  “There’s only three things he mentions in a sentence: a noun, and a verb and 9/11.”  I’m thinking this has to be where Robertson is coming from.

Even so, you’d think a guy who created an entire group around defeating gay marriage and abortion would cringe, just a little, at the thought of supporting someone who has historically been for both of those things.  Contrast this with James Dobson, who has historically been a little closer to the ground than Robertson, and his stubborn unwillingness to support any candidate who won’t do things exactly his way, down to the dots on the ‘i’s (apparently, he likes little hearts) and crosses on the ‘t’s, and we see that this election cycle has become a very mad, mad world indeed.

Now I’m not telling you not to vote for Giuliani — or even suggesting that, barring my man Fred(!) winning the primary, I myself wouldn’t vote Giuliani in the GE.  If he does what he’s promised regarding the Supreme Court (which is where the president has the most power on these issues, specifically abortion) by appointing constitutional originalists as opposed to bench-legislators, Giuliani may actually do some good.  However, his historic stances on the issues certainly move him out from being my first choice of candidate — and I know many socially conservative Christians who at this point would refuse to even vote if Giuliani gets in. 

I’m just not sure what Robertson’s playing at here — whether he’s punking us, or if he really has gone off the deep end.  But I’m starting to feel like my head may explode if things don’t get back to normal — and soon!

3 Responses to “Okay, Pat… now who are you really supporting?”

  1. I just think Pat is actually in a coma, and Guilaiani has paid his family to use him as a ventriloquist. That must be the only way to explain it.

  2. I really don’t understand Giuliani’s supposed widespread support, I mean he has not one but two ex-wives that hate him, nobody respects his new twenty-something wife (ex-wife #3 wating to happen), his own kids will probably be in commercials bashing him, I mean this guy makes Bill Clinton look like a saint. It’s only a matter of time before the dems zero in on him and show the world the real Giuliani.

  3. My theory is that name recognition gets Rudy his support. Rudy is famous for 9/11 and if not for that national tragedy and the tremendous amount of press coverage resulting from it, Rudy would be nearer the end of the pack of candidates if he was just running as the former mayor of New York rather than as America’s Mayor. But now, he’s like a neo-con rock star, especially in the media.

    Don’t get me wrong, Rudy is a great leader and was a great Mayor of New York. He was the right man for the job on 9/11 and he helped pull this nation together after the tragedy.

    That being said, I’d like to point out that Rudy is not a true conservative. I think Pat Robertson just wants to be on the side of the winner and he thinks that will be Rudy. I think Pat’s “power” is waning in the Christian conservative movement, anyway. His name will always be associated with it, just like Jerry Falwell’s will be, but Dr. James Dobson carries much more weight nowadays. I know Dobson is in favor of constitutional amendments to outlaw abortion and gay marriage. I’m for those things myself, although I’m doubtful of their ever being passed, at least in the near future. Abolishing Roe vs. Wade in favor of allowing states to make their own abortion laws and letting states decide the gay marriage issue will do for now. In light of this, we die-hard conservatives should line up with the man who holds the most conservative views: Fred Thompson. He’s right on so many things and wrong on so few.

    What’s so great about Fred? I know I may be preaching to the choir here, but let me see……he’s staunchly pro-life, he’s pro-tax cuts, he’s against gay marriage, he’s for a strong, expanded military, he’s against an expanded federal government, he’s against amnesty for illegals, he’s for border security complete with a fence or wall and more border patrol agents and real immigration reform, he’s pro-victory in Iraq, he’s for Social Security reform, he’s against government regulation, he’s for a market-driven economy, and I could go on.

    What do I not like about Fred? He voted for the McCain-Feingold campaign finance reform bill and didn’t vote to impeach Bill Clinton on, I believe, one of the articles of impeachment. Oh, yeah, and he’s a lawyer, but I won’t hold that against him. That’s it. These by no means disqualify him for my vote. Like I said, he’s right about so much and wrong about so little. Go Fred!

Leave a Reply

