The Palin-Biden Debate

I listened to the debate on the radio and did not watch it on TV. This gave me the opportunity to actually listen to what was said and not be distracted by appearance. My first impression was: “My God! It’s the lady from behind the airline ticket counter in ‘Planes, Trains, and Automobiles’ versus Detective Lieutenant Drebin of Police Squad.”

Most of the questions asked of both Vice-Presidential candidates seemed to have been answered with head nod and wink to the original question, proceed to a non-sequitur, rehearsed talking point, then proceed to cheerleading for the appropriate Presidential candidate.

The following is a dramatic recreation that barely attempts to parallel reality.

“Governor Palin; what are your views on rights for homosexuals?”

“Rights for homosexuals are rights that apply to people that are homosexual. The important thing is that they have the constant supply of oil and natural gas that this nations needs to meet our energy needs without shipping billions of dollars off shore to nations that really don’t like us. I’ve done that in Alaska. Whether it was as a small town mayor where small town values take on the good old boy network, or as Governor, where my executive experience taught me that Washington is corrupt and there is only one man in this race that has actually fought for you, and that is John McCain. He’s a maverick like me who will fight for you, fight for the middle class and return respect and decency to government by stopping pork barrel spending and putting country before self as he has always done since he spent all that time in a POW camp where he learned how to win a war.”

“Senator Biden, what are your thoughts on nuclear weapons?”

“You know, when it comes to nuclear weapons, I remember sitting on my father’s lap in our small, working class, blue collar neighborhood home in Erie, Pennsylvania, drinking a six pack and watching the Lincoln-Douglas debates on TV. My father turned to Joe Biden and said, ‘Joe Biden, when you get knocked down, get back up, and never forget the audacity of hope.’ ‘Oh, and take the train.’ George Bush has never done that. George Bush has never taken the train. That’s where he’s wrong, and that’s where John McCain is wrong. What we need to do is look to the future, not at the past. We need to look past the last eight years of a failed Bush administration that John McCain supported, 100%. We need to focus on what is ahead of us, not at the past where George Bush and John McCain got us into a war with no time line. A war in which my son will soon serve. Where it’s hot because of the failed Bush policies to control global warming. Policies that John McCain supported. You know, I remember one day when Joe Biden was reaching across the isle for a bi-partisan hand shake. And there, next to Joe Biden was Senator Obama also reaching across the isle. Joe Biden was most impressed by his JUD-ga-ment. Senator Barack Obama is a savior. When Joe Biden met him, I had a wholly original thought, ‘I once was lost, but now I’m found.’ He’s clean, he’s well spoken. He is the chosen one.”

In the end, neither won. I just hope we don’t end up losing.

2 Responses to “The Palin-Biden Debate”

  1. […] I listened to the debate on the radio and did not watch it on TV. This gave me the opportunity to actually listen to what was said and not be distracted by appearance. My first impression was: “My God! It’s the lady from behind the …[Continue Reading] […]

  2. […] I listened to the debate on the radio and did not watch it on TV. This gave me the opportunity to actually listen to what was said and not be distracted by appearance. My first impression was: “My God! It’s the lady from behind the …[Continue Reading] […]

Leave a Reply

